Measurement and Evaluation of Academic Research Performance: Policy Implications


June 21, 2010, Braga, Portugal




The Program, composed by 11 papers and a round table, is now available here.

At the closing session we have a round table that will discuss “The state of Research Evaluation: Lessons for the Future”. The table is composed by Alf Erling Risa (University of Bergen, Norway), Christian Zimmermann (University of Connecticut, USA), Luc Bauwens (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium), Heinrich Ursprung (University of Konstanz, Germany) and Francisco Veiga (Universidade do Minho, Portugal). Paulo Guimarães (University of South Carolina, USA) will be the moderator.

If you want to attend the event, please send an email to Dina Guimarães,

The pictures of the event are available here.

List of participants

Alexander Dilger

University of Münster

Alf Erling Risa

University of Bergen

Ana Alice Rodrigues Pereira Batista

Universidade do Minho

Anabela de Jesus Moreira Carneiro

Universidade do Porto, CEF.UP

Aurora A. Castro Teixeira

Universidade do Porto/cef.up

Christian Zimmermann

University of Connecticut

Clément Bosquet

GREQAM, University of Aix-Marseille

Fernando Augusto Sá Neves Santos


Francisco Veiga

Universidade do Minho/NIPE


Università di Roma "La Sapienza"

Harry Müller

University of Münster

Heinrich Ursprung

University of Konstanz

Jim Taylor

Lancaster University

Joaquim Carlos da Costa Pinho

Universidade de Aveiro

Luc Bauwens

University of Louvain

Luciana Lopes Freire


Luis Filipe Martins

ISCTE - Lisbon University Institute, Business School

Luís Miguel Pacheco

Universidade Portucalense

Manuel Mira Godinho


Manuel Mota Freitas Martins

Universidade do Porto/cef.up

Maria Cristina Marcuzzo

Università di Roma "La Sapienza"

Maria Margarida da Fonseca e Castro Cardoso

Universidade do Porto / Cipes

Matthias Krapf

University of Konstanz

Michel Lubrano

GREQAM-CNRS, Marseille

Miguel Portela

Universidade do Minho/NIPE

Mohammad Khodabakhshi

Islamic Azad University, Aligoudarz Branch, Iran

Mónica Duarte Oliveira

Instituto Superior Técnico, Technical University of Lisbon

Odd Rune Straume

Universidade do Minho

Paulo Guimarães

University of South Carolina

Pedro António Basto de Sousa

Universidade Portucalense

Pedro Nuno Teixeira

Universidade do Porto / Cipes

Ricardo Gonçalves

Universidade Católica do Porto

Robert Hofmeister

University of Konstanz

Sandra Silva

Universidade do Porto/cef.up

Vasco Gabriel

University of Surrey

Vera Catarina Barros Rocha

Universidade do Porto / Cipes